Skip to content

Why I don’t like International Women’s day

March 8, 2012

So, women have less power and freedom than men. At least world-wide. I strongly doubt it is still the case in Europe; I’ve lived here my whole life and I think I would have noticed.

Approach one: Demand the same power, freedom, possibilities etc for both men and women. All the time, all year, all aspects of society.

Approach two: Since men are ruling the rest of the year anyway, demand one day to belong to women.

And my problem is, I see these approaches as mutually exclusive. Either men and women are taking equal part in society, with equal rights, equal responsibilities and equal attention. Or we resign to the fact that most of the time it’s only about men anyway, and satisfy ourselves with having one day of the year for our own. If 8th of March is Women’s day, it follows that all other days belong to the men. I don’t think that’s a fair division.

2 Comments
  1. Clare permalink

    “If 8th of March is Women’s day, it follows that all other days belong to the men. I don’t think that’s a fair division”. Couldn’t agree more. Wish more people thought about this. Do they expect us to be grateful?!! o_O.

  2. Moreva permalink

    Once I got a rose from a man on Women’s day. Peculiar feeling. I like the guy and he was very happy over his present on that day. Later I learnt that giving flowers to women one liked is common among men in the East of Europe. I felt flattered and not on the same time.

Leave a Reply

