Skip to content

Beggars

June 12, 2012

What to do with beggars?

I want to help, if I can, if somebody needs it. And yet…

…there was this red-haired woman at the bus stop yesterday, asking if I could spare a Euro so she could buy food. I offered to instead buy her a sandwich at a nearby bakery. She declined. And that was that.

On the other hand, it’s not the first time I offer to buy food for people begging for food money, and it has happened that somebody took me up on it.

There shouldn’t have to be any beggars around here. We’ve got general social support, dammit. I know it’s a shitty life on social support, but you shouldn’t have to starve.

2 Comments
  1. if you’re a beggar i kind of understand why you wouldn’t want to accept a sandwich from a bakery. isn’t it a bit belittling not to give the beggar the right/responsibility to chose something affordable to eat/feed the family with from the food store instead of having to watch you use the same amount of money on just one lousy, heavily overpriced piece of bread and ham?

    like “if you can’t just give me the money then keep them yourself, i do have some sence of pride you know”?

  2. I see what you mean.
    I’m in no way affronted that she didn’t accept my offer; it’s her right to take or refuse, just as it’s my right to decide what, if anything, I give. I was a bit puzzled as to why she would refuse, but your explanation makes sense.

Leave a Reply

